Chat with us, powered by LiveChat Skip to main content

Press Release

AAAE Elects Leaders for 2022-2023 at 94th Annual Conference & Exposition in Seattle

For Immediate Release

June 8, 2022

Alexandria, Va. — Mark E. Gale, A.A.E., Chief Executive Officer & Director of Aviation, Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, took office today as Chair of the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) for 2022-23. Founded in 1928, AAAE is the world’s largest professional organization representing individuals who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. Other key appointments to the Association’s Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Policy Review Council were also finalized during the 94th Annual AAAE Conference & Exposition in Seattle, held June 5-8 and hosted by Seattle-Tacoma International Airport.
“As the aviation industry moves beyond pandemic to a brighter future ahead, AAAE is fortunate to have another group of exceptional airport executives who have pledged their time, energy, and talent to help guide the Association forward,” AAAE President and CEO Todd Hauptli said. “On behalf of the AAAE team, I congratulate these leaders for the recognition they have earned from their peers across the country and thank them for their commitment to our organization and the airport industry.” 
Gale was one of six Executive Committee members elected by the AAAE membership. He succeeds Lawrence J. Krauter, A.A.E., AICP, Chief Executive Officer, Spokane International Airport, who becomes First Past Chair. Second Past Chair is Kelly L. Campbell, A.A.E., Executive Director, Aviation, Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. Other Executive Committee members elected by the AAAE membership are First Vice Chair Perry J. Miller, A.A.E., I.A.P., President & Chief Executive Officer, Richmond International Airport; Second Vice Chair Richard S. Crider, A.A.E., Executive Vice President, Strategic Initiatives/Airport, Port San Antonio; and Secretary/Treasurer Rebecca L. Hupp, A.A.E., Airport Director, Boise Airport. 

Members of the AAAE Board of Directors are:

  • Terry Blue, A.A.E., ACE, Executive Vice President, Operations & Chief Operating Officer, Memphis International Airport
  • Henrietta Brown, A.A.E, Deputy Director, Finance and Administration, Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
  • Kevin R. Bumen, A.A.E., C.A.E., Chief Commercial Officer, San Francisco International Airport
  • William (Ed) E. Foster, A.A.E., Director, Lancaster Airport Authority
  • Christopher Greene, Vice President, RS&H
  • Vinicio L. LLerena, A.A.E., ACE, Executive Director, Victoria Regional Airport
  • Jane M. Lucero, A.A.E., AICP, Planning and Programs Administrator, New Mexico Aviation Division 
  • Jennifer L. Maples, A.A.E., ACE, Aviation Superintendent, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport
  • Joseph G. Marana, A.A.E., ACE, Director, Operations & Facilities, Fort Wayne International Airport
  • Scott C. McMahon, A.A.E., Executive Director, Morristown Airport
  • Melinda Montgomery, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Trenton-Mercer Airport
  • Chad Nixon, President & Chairman of the Board, McFarland-Johnson, Inc.
  • Gregory S. Phillips, A.A.E., Director, Aviation, Colorado Springs Airport
  • Judy M. Ross, A.A.E., Assistant Director of Aviation, Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport
  • Marc M. Sethna, A.A.E., Senior Manager Terminal & Facilities, Columbus Regional Airport Authority
  • Ryan H. Sheehan, A.A.E., Chief Operating Officer, Spokane International Airport
  • Cathryn Stephens, A.A.E., Airport Director, Eugene Airport
  • Craig A. Williams, A.A.E., Airport Director, Kalamazoo Battle Creek International Airport
  • Patrick W. Wilson, A.A.E., ACE, President, Metropolitan Knoxville Airport Authority
  • Jeremy L. Worrall, A.A.E., ACE, Airport Operations Superintendent, Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities
Members of the AAAE Policy Review Council are: 

  • Iftikhar Ahmad, P.E., President & Chief Executive Officer, Rhode Island Airport Corporation
  • Scott Alexander, C.M., Director, International Relations, Houston Airport System
  • Kimberly J. Becker, C.M., President & Chief Executive Officer, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
  • Balram J. Bheodari, A.A.E., General Manager, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport
  • Jeff L. Bilyeu, A.A.E., Aviation Director, Texas Gulf Coast Regional Airport
  • Scott A. Brockman, A.A.E., President & Chief Executive Officer, Memphis International Airport
  • Melissa W. Cooper, A.A.E., Deputy Director of Aviation – Properties & Commercial Development, Kansas City Aviation Department
  • Kevin A. Dillon, A.A.E., Executive Director, Bradley International Airport
  • Kevin C. Dolliole, Aviation Director, Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
  • Sean Donohue, Chief Executive Officer, Dallas Fort Worth International Airport
  • James Elwood, A.A.E., Executive Director, Jackson Hole Airport
  • Justin Erbacci, Chief Executive Officer, Los Angeles World Airports
  • Bryant L. Francis, C.M., Director of Aviation, Oakland International Airport
  • Daren A. Griffin, A.A.E., President & Chief Executive Officer, Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority
  • Kelly L. Johnson, A.A.E., Chief Operating Officer, Northwest Arkansas National Airport Authority
  • Huntley A. Lawrence, A.A.E., Chief Operating Officer, The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
  • Chad R. Makovsky, C.M., ACE, IACE, Director of Aviation Services, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport
  • Ronald F. Mathieu, President & Chief Executive Officer, Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport
  • Melinda Montgomery, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Trenton-Mercer Airport
  • Jeff A. Mulder, A.A.E., Director of Airports, Oklahoma City Airport Trust
  • Carl D. Newman, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Glendale Municipal Airport
  • Chad Newton, A.A.E., Chief Executive Officer, Wayne County Airport Authority
  • Ann B. Richart, A.A.E., Director, Nebraska Department of Transportation, Aeronautics Division
  • Jorge Rubio, A.A.E., Airports Deputy Director, City of San Diego
  • John Selden, Chief Executive Officer, NEOM Airports
  • Ryan H. Sheehan, A.A.E., Chief Operating Officer, Spokane International Airport
  • Ricky D. Smith, Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer, Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport
  • Marshall B. Stevens, A.A.E., Deputy Executive Director, Harrisburg International Airport
  • Scott Van Moppes, A.A.E., Director of Airports, Myrtle Beach International Airport
  • Mark D. VanLoh, A.A.E., Chief Executive Officer, Jacksonville Aviation Authority
  • Rosemary A. Vassiliadis, C.M., Director, Aviation, Harry Reid International Airport
  • Phillip A. Washington, Chief Executive Officer, Denver International Airport
  • William W. Wyatt, Executive Director, Salt Lake City Department of Airports 
The 95th Annual AAAE Conference & Exposition will be held June 3-5 in Denver, CO, and hosted by Denver International Airport.

# # #

ABOUT AAAE: Founded in 1928, AAAE is the world's largest professional organization representing the individuals who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. AAAE's 9,000 members represent some 875 airports and hundreds of companies and organizations that support the airport industry. Headquartered in Alexandria, Va., AAAE serves its membership through results-oriented representation in Washington, D.C., and delivers a wide range of industry services and professional development opportunities, including training, conferences, and a highly respected accreditation program.

Joel D. Bacon
Executive Vice President, Government and Public Affairs